Top 10 List Of Nations Without Self-Determination

1 2

6. Gagauz in Gagauzia:

Gagauz people are Seljuq Turks who occupy an autonomous region in Moldova. During the referendum of 1991, they voted to keep the Soviet Union. With the dissolution of the Soviet Union came Gagauz declaration of independence in August of 1991. This independence was not recognized by the international community and the Gagauzian region was incorporated into the Republic of Moldova. Under the auspices of the government of Moldova, Gagauzia was given full autonomy but not independence in 1994. There is a condition that stipulates that if Moldova and Romania unite, the nation of Gagauzia will become ‘self-determining”.


7. Bangsamora:

The term Bangsamoro refers to the native population who live on the Mindanao and other nearby islands in the Philippines. There are two nationalist movements in Bangsamora: Moro Islamic Liberation Front and Moro Liberation Nationalist Front. They both seek to become independent from the Philippines. They have resorted to kidnapping and violence as a means for liberation. This has put a cessation to Philippines’ offer of independence in 2007. In 2010, Philippines is now offering autonomy and a situation similar to the United States states.


8. Sahrawi in Western Sahara:

The Western Sahara region is an internationally disputed region in Africa. Although, the United Nations declared it to be a non-governing territory, Morocco still has control over some of the territory. In 1976, the military group, Polisario Front, declared the region independent and named it the Sahrawi Arab Democratic Republic. Many nations, including Morocco, do not recognize it or the Western Sahara region as being independent. In the meantime, the Sahrawi people are oppressed, detained and kicked out of their lands while under the control of Morocco. There is no clear resolution as to whether the Sahrawi will become independent altogether and would be recognized. There are still 160,000 Sahrawi displaced refugees.


9. Maori in New Zealand:

South Island nationalism has existed for nearly a century and a half. Julius Vogel, a premier in New Zealand, was an advocate for the separation of North and South Islands of New Zealand. The proposed independence under the name New Munster would give Maori native tribes the right to self-govern. This eventually led to the moving of the capital from Auckland to Wellington in 1865.

There are various obstacles which restrain the South Island from becoming independent. Many Maori natives are not wealthy and live short lives. The economics in the region is also poor. It is thus uncertain whether independence will be achieved in full.


10. Tibetans in Tibet:

The United Nations does not doubt that Tibetans are a distinct people with a distinct language. They have been continuously oppressed by the Chinese government since occupation in 1949. Since then the Chinese government has enacted policies which sought to destroy Tibetan identity. The Chinese government displaced many Tibetans from their homes as well. At this moment, the United Nations is refusing to take action against China. It feels Tibet is not independent and is economically dependent on China foremost. Its remote location also creates a problem for its self-determination process.



Unrepresented Nations and Peoples Organization. “Conference Report.” UNPO, 25 Mar. 1996. Web. 3 Aug. 2011. <http://Unrepresented Nations and Peoples>.


1 2

About The Author