Top 10 Goalkeepers Of The Last Decade

A Goalkeeper occupies a seminal position in a football match. Well if we regard the significance of a Goalkeeper in terms of a football match, as an entity of sports, a Goalkeeper is the last limit of defense that a team can offer to the opponent team when it is striking a goal. The necessity and positioning of a goalkeeper evolved since the emergence of the basic rules of this foot game. The most spectacular dive of a goalkeeper is the extension dive where he pushes the ball off him launching his move at a horizontal position. Apart from the co-ordination of sight and dive and his communicative skill, the skill that would make him a distinguished player would be mastering the use of timings at angles. During the penalty kicks, the Goalkeeper is the only person upon who lays the entire responsibility of winning or losing a game.

There are several goalkeepers who had been the strongest pillar of their team and have proved to be of much capability playing a major role in the verdict of a football match.

The top ten goalkeepers of the last decade might be controversial, but an incomprehensive positioning may go as follows:


1. Julio Caesar de Espindola

He is a Brazilian footballer who is currently a player of Internationale of the Italian Serie A where he is appointed as a Goalkepper. In 2009 he was felicitated as the best goalkeeper by IFFHS and also as Serie A Goalkeeper of 2009. This prolific player started his career as an international footballer in 2003 and was included in 2003 FIFA Confederations Cup. He was often taken as a substitute of prolific, Dida.


2. Iker Casillas

He is a Spanish Goalkeeper who also plays for Real Madrid and Spanish La Liga. He led Spain to their first championship in 44 years, the European Championship. In 2010 too he did lead Spain to the FIFA World Cup. He is one of the best Goalkeepers of Europe who became the first capped Goalkeeper ever. In the UEFA Champions League.


3. Gianluigi Buffon

The Italian footballer is the hallmark of the Italian nation football team and also a player of the club Juventus of Serie A. He is considered to be a very successful yet a dominant Goalkeeper in the footballer’s circuit. He has a highest record of being called the Serie A Goalkeeper of the Year for eight times. He was named the Italian captain of football team for Euro 2008.


4. Edwin van der Sar

He is a Dutch footballer and also plays for the English club of Manchester United. Is has won the UEFA Champions League with different teams, with Ajax and Manchester United in 1995 and 2008 respectively. He has been titled the best European Goalkeeper in 1995.


5. Igor Akinfeev

He is a Russian footballer who played for CSKA Moscow, a Russian championship. He also established a favorable place in Euro 2008.


6. Petr Cech

He is a footballer of the Czech Republic who also played for Chelsea. He received Best Goalkeeper for several times and in consecutive years, from 2004 to 2008.


7. Victor Valdes

He is a Spanish Footballer who has played for FC Barcelona. The most successful goalkeeper of Barcelona has won several titles, four La Liga titles, and also a Copa Del Rey title has been added to his kitty.


8. Hugo LLoris

This marvelous footballer has been of the French origin. He has been playing for the French club Olmpique Lyonnais and is a choicest of the Goalkeeper fraternity. The Goalkeeper is also a double winner of Ligue 1 Goalkeeper of the Year. He acted as a pioneer force for France to be qualified in the 2010 FIFA World Cup. Also he was the Captain of his team that very year.


9. Shay Given

This Irish footballer also plays for Manchester City as a goalkeeper of course. He won the Football league First Division Title in the year 1995-96. He has also played for New Castle in Champions League and UEFA Cup. International success came only in 1996 with the European Championship and World Cup.


10. Maarten Stekelenburg

He is a Dutch Footballer as a Goalkeeper. He is presently playing for both Ajax and the national team of Netherlands. He successfully replaced Edwin van der Sar in 2010FIFA World Cup.


About The Author

One Response

  1. sergio

    you cant be serious with this list if u leave oliver khan out! he should be in the top 5 for the last decade


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.